Diamond Education


The 4Cs Of Diamonds

Selecting a diamond starts by understanding the unique characteristics of each stone. Diamonds are graded based off the 4Cs – cut, color, clarity and carat weight. The 4Cs of diamonds impact the stone’s beauty and value. Learn more about each of the diamond 4Cs below.




The most well know “C” for carat is a reference for the diamond’s weight and not its size. One carat is equal to 0.20 grams.  A carat can be divided into points, where one point is equal to 0.01 carats Difference in color and clarity can make a small diamond much more valuable than a large one.

It is important not to confuse carat weight with size, as the cut and shape of a stone can also alter the carat weight.

carat filter

Foro tip :- Save some by 0.9ct instead of 1ct




The second most important of 4c’s, color is a reference to absence of color in a diamond. The most sought-after stones present very little colour, and appear transparent and bright. Diamond colour is graded according to the GIA colour scale, from D to Z. D is rated the most colourless, and therefore the most sought after and costly.

color new

D color: Highest, absolutely “colorless” grade, appreciated best set in platinum or white gold. Exceptionally rare.

E color: A “colorless” grade appreciated best set in platinum or white gold. Traces of color difficult for even trained eye to detect.

F color: A “colorless” grade appreciated best set in platinum or white gold. Faint color detectable by a trained gemologist.

G color: The highest “near-colorless” grade. Color may be detectable when compared to much higher “colorless” grades. Excellent value.

H color: A “near-colorless” grade, color is only noticeable when compared to much higher color grades. Excellent value.

I color: Color may be only slightly detectable upon close examination. Exceptional value.

J color: The last of the “near-colorless” grades, color may be slightly detectable to the unaided eye, particularly in fancy shapes or diamonds over 1-carat.

K color: The first of the “faint” color grades, meaning color may be detectable to the naked eye. K-color diamonds can offer great value.




The “C” most obscured to the naked eye, clarity, refers to the visual purity of a diamond. Clarity refers to the presence of imperfections, flaws and blemishes inside or on the surface of a diamond.

These inclusions occur naturally during the diamond growth process and are what make each diamond unique. The GIA grades diamond clarity under 10X magnification on a scale that ranges from Flawless (FL) to I2-3 (Included).

clarity new

IF Internationally Flawless: These rare high clarity diamonds are 100% flawless inside the diamond with no blemishes or inclusions.

VVS1 Very Very Slightly Included 1: There will be one minor inclusion within a diamond of this grade but only visible under 20x magnification or more.

VVS2 Very Very Slightly Included 2: There will be minor inclusions within a diamond of this grade but only visible under 20x magnification or more.

VS1 Very Slightly Included 1: Diamonds of this clarity will have several inclusions that are only visible with magnification of 10x but remain clean to the naked eye.

SI1 Slightly Included 1: Only 50% of diamonds of this clarity have no visible inclusions so it is important your selected diamond is eye clean.

SI2 Slightly Included : 85% of diamonds of this clarity have some form of visible inclusion or blemish to the naked eye.




Considered the most important of the 4Cs. cut has the greatest influence on a diamond’s beauty and sparkle.

Cut (proportions, symmetry, and polish) is a measure of how a diamond’s facets interact with light.
Even a diamond with a flawless clarity grade (no blemishes or inclusions) can look glassy or dull if the cut is too shallow or deep.

Cut grades range from Excellent, Very Good, Good, Fair and Poor.

cut img

Ideal : Precise proportions, polish, and symmetry allows the diamond to reflect the most possible light. Less than 1% of the world’s diamonds qualify.

Excellent : This rare cut represents roughly the top 3% of diamond cut quality. It reflects most of the light that enters the diamond.

Very Good: This cut represents roughly the top 15% of diamond cut quality. It reflects nearly as much light as the ideal cut, but for a lower price.

Good: This cut represents roughly the top 25% of diamond cut quality. It reflects most of the light that enters, but not as much as a Very Good cut grade.




The process of diamond certification involves trusted experts utilising a standardised grading system to objectively assess important characteristics of a diamond. This enables diamond buyers to gain a clear understanding of the diamond’s appearance, facilitating confident purchases of the perfect gemstone without any concerns.

To ensure the acquisition of a high-quality diamond with precise grading, independent certification is crucial. The loose diamonds undergo meticulous analysis and grading for quality by the Gemological Institute of America (GIA), a highly reputable and accurate laboratory within the diamond industry. By obtaining such independent certification, customers can be certain of receiving a diamond that meets their expectations and is accurately evaluated, free from any biases.